Welcome To The San Anton Resources HUB On AGORACOM

Edit this title from the Fast Facts Section

Free

SNN - Wall Street Interview

posted on Jul 09, 2009 07:23PM

THE WALL STREET TRANSCRIPT

SECTOR – PRECIOUS METALS

COMPANY INTERVIEW — SAN ANTON RESOURCES CORP.

TWST: Can you provide an historical sketch of San Anton Resource Corp?
Mr. Cook: I’d like to first step back and take a second to tell you about myself. I’m a mining engineer. I’ve been in the junior, or entrepreneurial, end of the mining business for the last 15 years. I am the CEO of San Anton Resource Corporation, and I also sit on the Board of several other small mining companies. San Anton has been in existence for a relatively short time. The Company’s principal asset is a 64% interest in the San Anton property which hosts the Cerro del Gallo gold-silver-copper deposit, located in the state of Guanajuato in central Mexico. Goldcorp holds the remaining 36% interest in the San Anton property.
San Anton Resource was spun off from Kings Minerals, an ASX listed company. Kings Minerals did some exploration work on the Cerro del Gallo deposit, earning a 51% interest in the project in December 2005. In order to take advantage of the better market conditions in North America—particularly the opportunity to raise equity capital via a listing on the Toronto Stock Exchange (TSX), Kings Minerals transferred its interest in the project to San Anton Resource Corporation which became listed on the TSX in December 2006 and completed a C$17.25 million financing placed largely with institutional investors. So, we can say that San Anton is a relatively new company.
At the time of the placement, market conditions were very good. The IPO sold at C$0.80 a share and the share price rose steadily for about the following 6 months. However, since October 2008, the equity markets began to pull back, and share prices across the mining sector have been on a bit of a slide since then.