Aiming to become the global leader in chip-scale photonic solutions by deploying Optical Interposer technology to enable the seamless integration of electronics and photonics for a broad range of vertical market applications

Free
Message: Re: A sad day if you have no choice but to sell... may be OT

I have been very moved by this thread. When I first joined this forum, I developed (fairly quickly) the supposition that there were two camps. The FJ camp and the Scary camp. I felt that I belonged in the FJ camp. I probably veered from the Scary camp for the same reason that I feel both respect and understanding today. Let me attempt to explain. I am a mid-tier artist (okay, I have a degree in Engineering but that was another life ago... and it's in "civil". The mechanical guys used to say: Electrical is too hard, and Civil is too easy. But I digress...) And not only am I an artist, I'm an artist in Canada. Being an artist in Canada is a bit like being on the TSXV. The collector base is so shallow, you could literally starve. I took a teaching gig thirty years ago. I retired from teaching at 59 because I couldn't handle the commute to the big city (Toronto) and I had a few large-ish commissions back to back. Now I'm 62 and I just finished my last large-ish commission. That means I'm back to the possibility of being underwater in a matter of months. The RRSP from my teaching days is... well, full retirement is not an option for me... of course, as an artist, it never will be. I fully agree with what Johny said. I'm pretty certain I have way less Poet stock than the majority on this board. But that amount of stock I hold is very significant for me. I read Scary's post and I feel the pain. It is palpable.

So Scary, if I ever had a "that guy's a pr**k" thought, I am sorry. I get it man, I really do. I wasn't kidding when I said "we can't get to a paradigm shift until we get past groundhog day. I look at the share price today and I could cry.