...We Welcome You To The Resverlogix HUB withIn The AGORACOM COMMUNITY!

Free

Tada,

I am no expert on the ins and outs of how DSMBs work. It is unclear to me what data the DSMB sees, if early trial termination for futility can be done without a formal futility analysis, or if there is any threshold %RRR magnitude and/or statistical difference that warrants early trial termination due to overwhelming benefit. Based on the 9 DSMB reports to date for BETonMACE, it is likely, in my opinion, that apabetalone is not increasing risk of MACE in these high-risk patients and apabetalone is not causing any serious, unexpected adverse events deemed related to the drug with enough frequency to warrant trial termination. Beyond that, I do not feel like I understand the dynamic between the DSMB, clinical steering committee and Resverlogix, the BETonMACE statistical analysis plan, or the rules for clinical trial termination to comment further.

I keep referencing back to Amarin's REDUCE-IT trial for Vascepa. That trial had an amazing 24.8% RRR for the primary 5-point MACE endpoint with a p-value of 0.00000001; the secondary 3-point MACE endpoint had a 26.5% RRR with a p-value of 0.0000006. REDUCE-IT accumulated 1606 adjudicated 5-point MACE events, of which 1065 were 3-point MACE events, over the course of a median 4.9 years of dosing. REDUCE-IT had passed two previous Phase 3 trials for triglyceride lowering prior to starting REDUCE-IT. REDUCE-IT was not stopped early.